The territories of Tuscany

Maremma is in the south west of Tuscany, within the province of Grosseto, and is bordered by the sea to the west.
Etruscan remains abound in this region as we can see in the cities of Pitigliano, Sorano and Sovana and in large archaeological sites such as the one at Roselle. In this part of the region are the famous Saturnia natural hot springs, of volcanic origin.
In the southern Maremma, bordering with Lazio, we find the Costa d’Argento, immersed in the Maremma Natural Parc (Parco Dell’Uccellina), with its pine forests, Mediterranean low shrubs and uncontaminated beaches. This area is home to much loved seaside resorts: Orbetello, in the lagoon waters, Talamone with its fortress and old village, Capalbio and the Monte Argentario with its wild cliffs and the crystal waters of Porto Ercole and Porto Santo Stefano.

From the coast there are boats connecting to the Tuscan Archipelago National Park: a series of islands including Giglio and Giannutri, surrounded by protected waters where fish and marine vegetation abound.

The most internal area extends as far as the Amiata Mountain, alternates gentle hills and woods. Here the landscape is dotted with villages and castles, as Scansano, famous for its Morellino wine, Campagnatico and Civitella Paganico.